Ready in 10

Posted on September 23, 2010

0



How can anyone define the art of getting ready in 10 mins? it does make me laugh when I think about all the times I’ve tried and failed but since I’ve had to get up at 4.30am to drive nearly 98 miles every day I have managed to do it and I do manage to leave the house in tact, no skirt tucked in knickers or odd shoes.

I’ve sussed that the snooze button is a little demon trying to lure me back into the realms of sleep and if I’m not careful I will drop back off to sleep and sleep right through it so my snooze has become my get ready timer.

When my alarm goes off its like a race track gun and getting ready is a perfected military operation – I can shower, dry, dress, brush and apply make up within 8 minutes, that leaves me 2 minutes to grab my coat, laptop, keys and run to the car. The reason I can do this is that I want to get as much sleep as I can in the most possible time and I prepare the night before. I choose what I’m going to wear and with regards to the rest it’s just the same thing everyday – I don’t need to decide what toothpaste/shower gel I’m going to use and my hair takes less than a minute to tie up.

My one flaw is that I can only do this when no one else is in the house, I haven’t sussed yet how to persuade my son that you can do this even though he wears a school uniform it still takes him forever and a day to get ready in the mornings, the bonus of this is that he doesn’t wear make up and we have separate bathrooms 🙂 and I still haven’t sussed how to get out of bed before my boyfriend the upside of this is I don’t have to because we only get to see each other at weekends and I don’t have to get up for work 🙂

Posted in: me, sleep, son, time, Uncategorized