Is your body talking to you? are you listening?

Posted on May 2, 2010

0



Mine did! Did I listen?  Well eventually!

After practically a year of having to live with feeling unwell and knowing something wasn’t quite right, I finally gave in and went to the doctors.   I then found out I am allergic to a number of things including wheat, gluten and house dust (yay for no hoovering!!)    I already knew I was allergic to certain food types like pineapples and strawberries but I hadn’t really twigged on these two – not particularly good seeing as I probably consume a loaf of bread every two days, (what can I say I like sandwiches and toast πŸ™‚   I also have an imflammed thyroid but I have yet to find out what I have to do about it, so I’m not going to focus on that right now) 

Maybe I should just give up while I am ahead and trade myself in :p  However, looking at it from a realistic point of view this is not some terrible disease or fatal illness.  My body is just telling me that it wants me to change how I am fuelling it and how I am treating it.  So now it’s time to listen and time to react positively! Cutting down on the things that aggravate my body is not a bad thing, it’s a good thing and one that I’m going to try very hard to adhere to.  Maybe if I’d listened earlier it wouldn’t have gone as far as it did!

As much as I would like to think I am going to do everything I need to, to avoid the swelling, the rashes, the bloating, the discomfort and all the other symptoms, (which really do not need to be mentioned here).  There are some things that I just know I am going to struggle to give up (bread – just thinking about it makes me want to go and make a cheese sandwich) and like a spoilt child, I am pretty sure I am going to want what I cannot have πŸ˜‰

I’ve started looking into it and what I didn’t know is that allegies are heredity, so I can now blame my parents for something else in my life that isn’t right πŸ™‚  That does not mean just because your immediate family do not show any signs that yours are in your head.  It could just be that your symptoms are far more severe.

In the UK approximately 4 people in 10 people are likely to suffer from some kind of allergy and 51% of women have at least one allergy compared with 37% of men.  Along with PMT and childbirth there’s another reason to not be a woman, only kidding I love being a woman and wouldn’t change it for the world but that’s for another topic πŸ™‚

According to market research done by Mintel in early 2010, there is a substantial number of allergy sufferers who will not take action to alleviate the allegen that affects them.  Does that surprise me?  I mean it took me a year to go to the doctors.  Although, now I know what is really affecting me I am quite focussed on sorting it out but there is another side to it, the allergy I have to house dust!  caused by dust mites (makes my skin crawl thinking about it).   I was told it’s more likely to happen in a household with pets that isn’t cleaned as often as it should be.   That’s devastating! especially as i’m slightly OCD (ha! didn’t mention that one yet) about my house and cleaning (although I call it being house proud).  I have 2 cats and a dog. So am I likely to get rid of my beautifully spoilt and loved animals?   NO!  I just have to make sure that i’m extra vigilant or find a bubble I can live in.  

The thing that is laughable is that when I am at home I do not have the problem, when my problem was at its worse I was working away and staying in hotels.  Unfortunately I cannot change that part of my life, so my point is this – I will change what I can to bring my body back into harmony with me (and hopefully shut it up, as the conversation is a little one sided) and fortunately for the things I cannot change there will always be anti-histimines. πŸ™‚

